This is just a test for 2008
hours 'intersect' with
the profession's woes
Diane Faber lived the big law firm life: representing glamorous, high-profile
clients in the entertainment industry; working days, nights and weekends with
brilliant, demanding legal minds; writing briefs and arguments in her head
no matter where she was, and earning the bonuses, perks and choice of cases
that come with meeting the minimum billable-hour requirement.
Bank of America boosts its interest rate on IOLTA accounts
The Bank of America, California's largest bank and the holder of 20 percent
of the state's lawyer trust accounts, reached agreement with the State Bar
last month to comply immediately with a new state law that boosts interest
on IOLTA accounts.
dues must be paid by Feb. 1 to avoid a late penalty
All California attorneys, active and inactive, must pay their annual State
Bar fees by the statutory due date of Feb. 1. If fees are not paid online or
postmarked by that date, a late payment charge — $100 for active lawyers and
$30 for inactive members — will be assessed.
Council, ABA House need volunteers
The State Bar is seeking applicants for two positions on the Judicial Council
and six positions in the ABA House of Delegates. The deadline for applications
is Feb. 1.
want tighter rules for discipline diversion program
Attempting to tighten rules governing its discipline diversion program for
attorneys with addiction or mental health problems, a State Bar committee has
recommended a series of changes to restrict eligibility for the program.
foundation launches diversity scholarship for first-year students
The California Bar Foundation announced last month that it will launch a new
diversity scholarship program to help bolster the numbers of people from diverse
backgrounds entering the legal profession.
committee approves another version of insurance disclosure rule
Lawyers will have to tell clients that they do not carry malpractice insurance
only if they provide more than four hours of representation under the newest
disclosure rule proposed by a committee of the State Bar Board of Governors.
Updated ‘18’ will
be printed in May
The State Bar's popular When You Become 18: A Survival Guide for Teenagers
will be up-dated and published again this spring.
The businesses and services listed here support the State Bar through various
means, most notably as exhibitors at the State Bar's Annual Meeting. Visit them
online or via phone to serve your individual needs.