Board OKs permanent disbarment
California attorneys who commit egregious misconduct can be permanently disbarred
if the Supreme Court approves a recommendation adopted last month by the State
Bar Board of Governors.
Bar to adhere to ‘real’ deadline for dues payment: $100 late penalty will attach Feb. 2
If you’re one of more than 60,000 California lawyers who wait until
March 15 to pay your bar dues, here’s a heads up: you’ll have to
start paying on time or face a penalty.
2007 bar fee set at $400
At its August meeting, the State Bar Board of Governors set fees for 2007
at the level approved last year by the legislature in a two-year dues bill:
$400 for active lawyers and $125 for those who are inactive. The fees represent
an increase of $5 for active members and $10 for inactive lawyers.
aboard for Monterey
At the State Bar’s Annual Meeting in Monterey next month, California
attorneys will find dozens of MCLE programs on topics ranging from elder law
to the hottest issues in cyberspace to rainmaking to the latest legal developments
in their fields.
Remke named presiding State Bar Court judge
State Bar Court Judge Joann Remke has been named the new presiding judge of
the State Bar Court by the California Supreme Court. The high court, which
made the appointment last month, also announced that State Bar Court Hearing
Judge State Bar Court Hearing Judge Patrice McElroy was reappointed.
Sloan’s lawyer civility promotion wins go-ahead
The State Bar Board of Governors has given the go-ahead to a pet project of
President-elect Sheldon Sloan — a plan to promote civility within the
2005 Exhibitor Directory
The businesses and services listed here support the State Bar through various
means, most notably as exhibitors at the State Bar's Annual Meeting. Visit them
online or via phone to serve your individual needs.