Bar names 10 to access group

The State Bar has named 10 attorneys and judges to serve on a new broad-based commission to explore alternative ways to improve access to justice for poor and moderate-income Californians. Appointees to the 22-member California Commission on Access to Justice are: Laurie D. Zelon of Los Angeles (commission chair); Pauline W. Gee of Marysville; U.S. District Court Judge Terry J. Hatter Jr. (Central District) of Los Angeles; Associate Justice Earl Johnson Jr. (Second District Court of Appeal) of Los Angeles; USC law school associate dean Karen Lash; Jan Greenberg Levine of Los Angeles; Jack W. Londen of San Francisco; Harvey I. Saferstein of Los Angeles; Timothy B. Taylor of San Diego; and Jose R. Villarreal of San Jose.

In light of the legal services crisis, the commission of lawyers and academic, business and community leaders will explore ways to implement some recommendations and funding options presented last year in a special task force report.

The task force estimated an additional $250 million to $300 million (in 1993 dollars) would be necessary to meet the legal needs of California's poor alone.