Answer the following questions after reading the article on attorneys' fees. Use the answer form provided to send the test, along with a $20 processing fee, to the State Bar. Please allow at least eight weeks for MCLE certificates to reach you in the mail.
1. A person is not considered to be driving under the influence if:
a. The driver is suspected to be under the influence of a "smart" drug.
b. The driver is suspected to be under the influence of GHB.
c. The driver admits he has ingested an illicit controlled substance but is not impaired.
d. The driver is suspected to be under the influence of a prescription medication prescribed by his or her physician.
2. A study done by the National Justice Institute found:
a. Forty to 50 percent of those persons who were arrested in large cities for drug-related crimes had a history of illicit drug use.
b. At least 80 percent of persons arrested for all types of crimes and held in metropolitan jails had evidence of alcohol intoxication at the time of their arrest.
c. Seventy percent of the metropolitan jail population were admitted drug users.
d. Seventy to 80 percent of persons incarcerated in metropolitan jails for all types of crimes tested positive for illicit drugs.
3. It was illegal to possess Rohypnol in the United States before Jan. 1, 1997.
4. Rohypnol, an exception to the federal scheduled scheme, is classified federally as a Schedule I drug, although it has some accepted medical uses.
5. Controlled substances listed in state schedules must parallel the federal scheduling categories.
6. The California Business & Professions Code defines a "dangerous drug" as those drugs enumerated under Schedule I in California's Health and Safety Code.
7. The Federal Drug Administration (FDA) has not approved GHB for any type of use in the United States.
8. GHB is:
a. A controlled substance under federal scheduling laws
b. A controlled substance under California's scheduling laws
c. A controlled substance under both federal and California scheduling laws
d. None of the above
9. Schedule V drugs are those drugs that have:
a. A high potential for abuse
b. A lack of accepted safety levels
c. Some psychological and physical effects and a current medical use in treatment in the United States
d. All of the above
10. The definition of a drug under the California Vehicle Code includes:
b. Drugs that affect a person's nervous system, brain or muscles
c. Only those drugs listed in California's Health and Safety Code Schedules I through V
d. None of the above
11. The definition used by the U.S. Department of Transportation includes chemical synthetic substances.
12. Most drug-related deaths result from illicit drug use.
13. Flunitrazepam is:
a. Ten times as potent as Valium
b. Listed as a Schedule I drug in California
c. Manufactured in the U.S. by Hoffmann-LaRoche but not sold in this country.
d. Legal to possess if purchased by foreign prescription in limited amounts
a. Was marketed in the U.S. in the 1950s
b. Is chemically related to methamphetamine
c. Is less potent than amphetamines
d. Is a central nervous system depressant
15. Rohypnol is:
a. Considered safer than barbiturates because there is little risk of lethal overdose
b. A Schedule I controlled substance as of Jan. 1, 1997
c. Illegal to possess for sale, except by authorized pharmacies
d. Legal to possess in limited quantities with a foreign prescription
16. Rohypnol and GHB are similar because both drugs:
a. Have been classified as Schedule I drugs under federal law
b. Have no pain relieving qualities
c. Are central nervous system stimulants
d. All of the above
17. Of all the scheduled drugs in the federal system, Schedule V drugs impose the harshest penalties.
18. Rohypnol can cause retrograde amnesia and affect a rape victim's ability to recall the events of a crime.
19. It is a federal crime to manufacture GHB and transport it for the purposes of sales under FDA rules.
20. Ephedrine and caffeine are common drug-cutting agents.
This activity has been approved for Minimum Continuing Legal Education credit by the State Bar of California in the amount of 1 hour, of which 1 hour will apply to substance abuse.
The State Bar of California certifies that this activity conforms to the standards for approved education activities prescribed by the rules and regulations of the State Bar of California governing minimum continuing legal education.