State Bar of California California Bar Journal
Home Page Official Publication of the State Bar of California August2003
MCLE Self-Study
You Need to Know
Trials Digest
Contact CBJ

Three bar leaders receive honors

State Bar Executive Director Judy Johnson and two members of the board of governors have received honors in recent months.

State Bar Executive Director Judy Johnson

Johnson was honored as a legal pioneer by the Wiley Manuel Law Foundation, an organization that administers a law student scholarship program and a high school moot court competition.

Johnson, 54, was named executive director of the bar in May 2000, becoming the first woman and first person of color to hold the bar's top job. A graduate of Stanford University and the University of California at Davis School of Law, Johnson was a deputy district attorney in San Francisco prior to joining the bar as its chief trial counsel.

Windie Scott, a bar governor representing District 2

Windie Scott, a bar governor representing District 2, was named deputy controller for policy in the State Controller's Office. Previously general counsel for the California State Workforce Investment, Scott will be part of a five-member policy team for the controller.

She has served on the bar board for two years and previously was president of the Sacramento County Bar Association. Also a graduate of Davis law school, Scott has more than 20 years of state service, including representing Controller Gray Davis in the area of tax, and serving as chief deputy to Board of Equalization member John Chiang.

Board member James O. Heiting of Riverside

Board member James O. Heiting of Riverside was inducted into the Western State University College of Law Hall of Fame. Heiting, in his first year as a bar governor, was honored at Western State's graduation ceremonies for his "extraordinary professional leadership role within the profession both statewide and in his home county of Riverside."

He was previously president of the Riverside County Bar Association, a member of the executive committee of the former Conference of Delegates and president of The Other Bar.

Contact Us Site Map Notices Privacy Policy
© 2022 The State Bar of California