State Bar of California California Bar Journal
Home Page Official Publication of the State Bar of California January2004
MCLE Self-Study
You Need to Know
Trials Digest
Contact CBJ

Herman, judges honored for distinguished service

The Judicial Council announced the winners of the 2003 Distinguished Service Awards, given to those who demonstrate extraordinary leadership and make significant contributions to the administration of justice in California.

  • Jurist of the Year: Justice CAROL CORRIGAN of the First District Court of Appeal, and Justice JAMES WARD of the Fourth District Court of Appeal, selected jointly for their work on the council's Task Force on Jury Instructions. Judge LEONARD EDWARDS of the Superior Court of Santa Clara County also was selected for his innovative contributions to the judiciary in the areas of juvenile and family courts, court coordination and domestic violence prevention and intervention.

  • Judicial Administration Award: JEANNE MILLSAPS, court executive officer for the Superior Court of San Joaquin County, and CHRISTINE HANSEN, Director of the Finance Division of the Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC), who was selected for her leadership role as the chief financial officer for the California judicial branch.

  • James Herman
    Bernard E. Witkin Award: JAMES HERMAN, president of the State Bar in 2002-2003, was selected in recognition of his leadership of the bar's unprecedented effort to generate support for the independence of the judiciary and for adequate funding for the state's judicial branch. GOV. GEORGE DEUKMEJIAN was selected for his many contributions to the judicial branch in California during his service to the state as Assemblyman, Senator, Attorney General and Governor.

Contact Us Site Map Notices Privacy Policy
© 2023 The State Bar of California