State Bar of California California Bar Journal
Home Page Official Publication of the State Bar of California February2009
MCLE Self-Study
You Need to Know
Trials Digest
Contact CBJ

Penalties for non-payment of dues attached Feb. 2;
final mailed mid-March

State Bar fee payments for 2009 were due Feb. 2 for all active lawyers and inactives under 70, and late penalties attached on Feb. 3 to fees not received by the statutory deadline. Lawyers who have not paid their fees will receive a final delinquent notice in mid-March, and fees not received after that will result in Supreme Court suspension in June.

More than 42,000 bar members had paid their fees by Dec. 31, and at press time payments appeared to be on track to reach the 90 percent of lawyers who typically pay their fees on time. Last June, 1,914 of the bar’s more than 215,000 members were suspended by the Supreme Court for non-payment of dues.

Active lawyers who have not yet paid their fees will be assessed an additional $100 penalty, and inactive lawyers will be assessed a $30 penalty. Fees this year are $410 for actives and $125 for inactives.

Minimum Continuing Legal Education (MCLE) compliance also was due on Feb. 2 for lawyers in Group 2 (last names beginning H-M). Group 2 lawyers who did not submit compliance on time will now owe a $75 penalty.

For additional information, please go to or call the Member Services Center at 1-888-800-3400.

Contact Us Site Map Notices Privacy Policy
© 2024 The State Bar of California