deadline Feb. 1
MCLE compliance cards were mailed last month to lawyers whose last
names begin with the letters A through M, who are required to complete 25 hours of
continuing legal education by Feb. 1. Some members of Groups 1 and 2 who did not comply
with 1997 and 1998 deadlines, which were temporarily suspended as a result of litigation
before the Supreme Court, must now prove completion of 61 hours of MCLE classes.
Members of Group 1 who did not complete the previously required 36
hours by Feb. 1, 1998, have until Feb. 1, 2001, to complete 61 hours. The same deadline
applies to members of Group 2 who did not finish 36 hours by Feb. 1, 1997.
Deadlines were adjusted by the State Bar Board of Governors following
the Supreme Courts ruling last year in the Warden case.
Attorneys with questions about compliance may contact 415/538-2100
State Bar seeks applicants for Judicial Council, ABA
House of Delegates
The State Bar is seeking lawyer applicants for positions on the
California Judicial Council and the American Bar Associations House of Delegates.
One three-year position is open on the 21-member Judicial Council.
The time commitment is about 300 hours per year, meetings usually are held six to seven
times a year and travel expenses are reimbursed. The term of the new appointee will begin
Five delegates and two alternates also will be appointed by the State
Bar to the ABA House of Delegates. Each delegate serves a two-year term, beginning next
August, and the alternates serve for one year.
One of the five delegates will be a young lawyer representative, who
must be under 35 when the terms begin Aug. 8.
Delegates are expected to attend year-year and annual ABA meetings,
participate in conference calls prior to the meetings and pay their own travel expenses.
Applications for the positions are available online at the bars
website, www.calbar.org, or can be obtained from the bars appointments office at 180
Howard St., San Francisco 94105; (phone) 415/538-2299; or (fax) 415/538-2180.
The deadline for all applications is Feb. 5, and the appointments
will be announced in April.
JNE applicants sought
Active members of the State Bar, former members of the judiciary and
members of the public are invited to submit an application for appointment to the 2001-02
Commission on Judicial Nominees Evaluation (JNE). Terms begin June 1.
Established pursuant to Govern-ment Code §12011.5, JNE evaluates all
candidates who are under consideration for a judicial appointment by the governor. It is
composed of attorneys and public members (non-lawyers or attorneys not admitted to
practice in California) who represent a broad cross-section of Californias legal
profession and general population.
Commissioners serve terms of approximately one year and may serve up
to three consecutive terms.
Information about the commission, qualifications and time commitment,
as well as the application form, are available on the State Bars website, www.calbar.org, or from the bars appointments
office at 180 Howard St., San Francisco 94105; (phone) 415/538-2299; or (fax)
The application deadline is Feb. 5.
Law corp address changes
California law corporations received the 2000 annual report and 2001
renewal form this month. All previously unreported law corporation address changes should
be faxed as soon as possible to the State Bars office of certification at
Questions may be addressed to 415/538-2142.
Jan. 11 fee arb training scheduled in San Mateo
Recent developments in fee arbitration will be discussed at a fee
arbitrator training program sponsored by the State Bars Commit-tee on Mandatory Fee
Arbitration Jan. 11. The free training, which offers 2.75 hours of MCLE credit, will take
place from 5 - 8 p.m. at the Villa Hotel, 4000 S. El Camino Real, San Mateo.
Volunteers who arbitrate and mediate attorney-client fee disputes for
mandatory fee arbitration programs throughout the state are invited to the training, as
well as those interested in becoming fee arbitrators.
To register, contact the San Mateo County Bar Association,
For additional information, contact the State Bars fee
arbitration office at 415/538-2023.
New legal services directory is available
The 2000-01 edition of the California Legal Services Directory is
available for $25. The directory, prepared by the State Bars Office of Program
Develop-ment, contains listings of all the Legal Services Trust Fund recipients (legal
services programs), as well as the support centers, State Bar certified lawyer referral
services, dispute resolution programs and family law facilitators.
To obtain a copy, send a check for $25 to: State Bar of California,
Office of Program Development Direc-tory, 180 Howard St., San Francisco CA
Orders by telephone, 415/538-2176, or e-mail, firstname.lastname@example.org, are accepted.
Five positions open on legal services board
The State Bar is seeking attorneys interested in applying for one of
five three-year terms on the board of directors of Legal Services of Northern California.
The 38-member board meets five times annually in Sacramento to make policy decisions
regarding the operations of the program, which provides free quality legal services in
civil matters to low-income people in 23 northern California counties.
Applicants must practice or reside in Sacramento, Yolo or Solano
Applicants must submit a letter describing the reasons they should be
appointed, indicating their county of residence, and a resume outlining work experience,
community activity and educational background. Applications should be submitted to Denise
Teraoka, Office of Legal Services, 180 Howard St., San Francisco 94105, 415/538-2545.
The deadline is Jan. 9.
Bar revises 13 consumer information pamphlets
Thirteen consumer education pamphlets, dealing with topics including
rent, divorce and debts, have been updated and revised by the State Bar.
Three pamphlets have been translated into Spanish, five are available
in hard copy and eight are online at www.calbar.org. Order forms for obtaining print
copies of the pamphlets are not online, but information may be obtained by calling
The pamphlets online are:
How Can I Find and Hire the
How Do I Use the Small
What Should I Know About
Divorce and Custody?;
What Should I Know Before I
What Should I Know if I Am
What Should I Do if I Have
an Auto Accident?;
What Can I Do If I Cant
Pay my Debts? and
Can the Law Help Protect Me
From Domestic Violence?
What Should I Know before I Buy a House and What Should I Know
Before I Sign, a pamphlet explaining contracts, are available in printed form.
The rent, small claims and debt pamphlets have been translated into
Spanish and also are available in printed form.
Inquiries about pamphlets dealing with wills, trusts and estate
planning should be directed to 415/538-2206.