California Bar Journal
spacer.gif (810 bytes)
Six new members elected to bar board
spacer.gif (810 bytes)

New members of the State Bar Board of Governors and the board of the California Young Lawyers Association, as well as new presidents of both groups, took office this month. Although few of the races were contested and the majority of winners have been active in bar affairs, the new faces are sure to bring new perspectives to both boards.

Leading the State Bar in the coming year is Los Angeles attorney KAREN NOBUMOTO, the organization's first female African-American president. A deputy district attorney in the career criminal unit of the DA's target crimes division, Nobumoto, 49, succeeds Contra Costa County arbitrator Palmer Madden.

John Van de KampMatthew CavanaughWindie O. ScottMarie Seth WeinerRussell S. RoecaNobumoto will preside over the 23-member board of governors, where five attorneys begin three-year terms. The biggest name, former California Attorney General JOHN VAN DE KAMP, will be one of two Los Angeles representatives, along with MATTHEW CAVANAUGH, who won a seat without the endorsement of the Breakfast Club, an L.A. group whose recommendations have long influenced who represents the southland. The other new board members hail from northern California: WINDIE O. SCOTT of Sacramento represents the 10-county District 2; MARIE SETH WEINER of Burlin-game will represent the four Bay Area counties in District 3; and RUSSELL S. ROECA will represent San Francisco and Marin counties.

James C. SherwoodFresno attorney JAMES C. SHERWOOD will serve a one-year term as the CYLA representative to the board.

Scott, Roeca and Van de Kamp ran unopposed and were automatically elected.

Scott, 48, is chief counsel for the California State Workforce Investment Board, was president of the Sacramento Bar Association and is a member of the conference of delegates executive committee.

Like Scott, Roeca has an extensive history of bar and civic activities on his resume, including a current position as vice president of the San Francisco Fire Commission and four years on the board of the Bar Association of San Fran-cisco. A partner in the small niche firm of Roeca Haas Hager, Roeca, 47, specializes in professional liability matters, as well as real estate and some commercial litigation.

Weiner, 42, a partner at Cotchett, Pitre & Simon in Burlingame, defeated three other candidates for the District 3 seat, running on a platform that touted efficient use of limited resources and increased help from the bar for solo and small firm practitioners. She specializes in investment fraud and consumer fraud and handles a variety of business litigation and some intellectual property matters.

In the other contested race, Cavanugh defeated one other candidate for District 7's office one. Although he belongs to two county bar associations, Cavanaugh, 38, said the board of governors needs the perspective of an outsider without a history of State Bar connections.

Van de Kamp, 65, said he ran for the board primarily to give a voice to large law firms, whose former dominance of the bar board has  diminished in recent years. He is now of counsel to Dewey Ballantine LLP, a Washing-ton, D.C.-based firm with more than 50 lawyers in Los Angeles, where he handles a variety of cases.

Sherwood, the new CYLA representative, practices with Dowling, Aaron & Keeler in Fresno, where he handles complex business litigation cases. Sherwood, 35, received his law degree from the University of San Diego.

Taking office in the young lawyers group are: president, STEVEN KAUFHOLD of San Francisco; first vice president, ANTHONY PAUL DIAZ of Los Angeles; second vice president, THEODORE BYRNE of Los Angeles; third vice president, CRAIG NICHOLAS of San Diego; and secretary/treasurer, MICHAEL BURY of Chico.

New members of the CYLA board are MARALEE MacDONALD of Boutin, Dentino, Gibson, DiGiusto, Hodell & West in Sacramento (District 2); SHARON M. NAGLE, Law Offices of Thomas C. Nagle in Walnut Creek (District 3); JOHN W. CALKINS of McCutchen Doyle Brown & Enersen in San Francisco (District 4); and JENNIFER A. ROTH of Morrison & Foerster in Los Angeles and MARGARET P. STEVENS of Baker Keener & Nahra in Santa Monica (both representing District 7).